Board Members


Adeyinka M. Akinsulure-Smith, PHD, ABPP, is a licensed psychologist and a tenured Professor in the Department of Psychology at the City College of New York, the City University of New York (CUNY) and at the Graduate Center, CUNY. Dr. Akinsulure-Smith has cared for forced migrants, including survivors of torture, armed conflict, and human rights abuses from around the world at the Bellevue/NYU Program for Survivors of Torture since 1999. 

Dr. Akinsulure-Smith has participated in human rights investigations in Sierra Leone and served as a Joint Expert on Gender Crimes and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder for the International Criminal Court. She provides forensic evaluations, human rights consultations, and mitigation services on capital cases for private legal firms and public entities such as the US Office of the Federal Defender.

In addition to her teaching and clinical work, Dr. Akinsulure-Smith is the recipient of several grants and Fellowships, including a 2014-2015 Fulbright Africa Regional Research Program award. Currently she is the PI of an NIH-funded project to examine Female Genital Cutting among African immigrants and service providers in the United States. Her work has included developing and examining mental health interventions in Sierra Leone and Nigeria. Dr. Akinsulure-Smith has written extensively about service provision to and mental health challenges facing forced migrants, including recent scholarly publications in Journal of Traumatic Stress, Psychological Trauma: Theory, Research, Practice, and Policy, Journal of Immigrant and Refugee Studies, Professional Psychology: Research and Practice, Journal of Child and Family Studies, Human Development, PLOS, Journal of Immigrant & Minority Health, American Journal of Community Psychology, and Journal of Aggression, Maltreatment & Trauma.

Dr. Bogomaz is a training director at the University of North Florida Counseling Center. He received his ABPP in 2017 and loves being a part of the ABGP board.
Dr. Misha Bogomaz is an Assistant & Training Director at University of North Florida Counseling Center. He is a Licensed Psychologist, Board Certified in Group Psychology, and a Certified Group Psychotherapist with experience and interest in group psychotherapy, group dynamics, leadership, followership, group unconscious, and group decision making. 

Elizabeth Weiner, Ph.D, ABPP, works at the United States Medical Center for Federal Prisoners in Springfield, Missouri.  She provides group therapy on the open, semi-locked and locked treatment units for severely disturbed psychiatric inpatients.  She is the internship supervisor for the Group Psychotherapy minor rotation.  Evidence-based treatments she uses include various types of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for criminal thinking errors, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, Motivational Interviewing, Illness Management and Recovery, and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction.